Hate EternalHate Eternal was formed in 1997. The group's original line-up included Erik Rutan - guitars/vocals, bassist and co-vocalist Jared Anderson, drummer Tim Yeung, and guitarist Doug Cerrito of the band Suffocation.
In 2002, drummer Derek Roddy (formerly of Nile, Divine Empire and Malevolent Creation) replaced Tim Yeung, and the band set forth to record their second album, King of All Kings as a trio with Erik, Jared and Derek. That summer, Erik Rutan calmly parted ways with Morbid Angel, stating that he wished to devote more time to Hate Eternal.
What followed was a whirlwind of international touring to promote King of All Kings, including a noted video on MTV2's Headbanger's Ball for the single, "Powers That Be". Jared Anderson left the group soon after due to an admitted drug problem. South Florida musician Randy Piro (a friend of Derek's) quickly stepped up to the plate as Jared's replacement in the group, and the band pressed on. After completing their last tour for the album in December of 2003, the group began a brief hiatus.
2004 saw Hate Eternal begin work on the much-anticipated follow-up to King of All Kings, entitled "I, Monarch". Recording began in the fall, and the album would eventually be released in June of 2005. Hailed by critics and fans alike, the album put forth an innovative new musical approach in extreme metal, while retaining the elements of speed and brutality that dominate the genre. The group's individual and collective talents in musicianship and production shined like never before.
After an internally difficult U.S. tour over the summer of 2005 and with a number of pending business problems, the group cancelled their European tour, scheduled for the fall. After spending much of the winter dealing with internal differences and personal situations, Derek Roddy announced his departure from Hate Eternal in late March of 2006.
With pending tour obligations, Erik Rutan and Randy Piro continued on and recruited former Dying Fetus drummer Kevin Talley for U.S. appearances in the Spring, and Reno Killerich for the group's rescheduled European run. As of the July 26, 2007 Erik Rutan announced Jade Simonetto as the band's new permanent drummer.
To date, Hate Eternal have released three albums: Conquering the Throne (1999), King of All Kings (2002) and I, Monarch (2005). The last two full length albums were produced by Rutan. According to recent news, Hate Eternal has signed a contract with Metal Blade Records and have released their new album "Fury and Flames" in February of 2008.
Hate Eternal @ MySpace