DefectoDEFECTO was formed in 2011 in suburban Copenhagen when singer, guitarist and frontman Nicklas Sonne was approached by the legendary producer Flemming Rasmussen (Metallica, Blind Guardian) after hearing Sonne's music. Fueled by a desire to help Sonne record and release his material, they contacted childhood friend and lead guitarist, Frederik Møller, as well as bass-player Thomas Bartholin and drummer Lars Jensen in order to create a band that could match Sonne's unique potential.
Already from the beginning, DEFECTO's particular brand of melodic and virtuoso metal has been creating a buzz in the Danish metal scene. Released in 2012, their debut EP "Defecto" brought them into the attention of the Danish media, and they were named "Best Metal Band 2012" by Underground Music Awards.
The recent release of DEFECTO's debut album "Excluded" in march 2016 was met with much attention and appraisal throughout the European metal scene, creating a dedicated following for the band and leading to a considerable breakthrough especially in the Danish metal scene. Apart from playing an almost sold out Danish tour in support of Excluded, DEFECTO played at prestigious festival COPENHELL in 2016 and opened for huge acts such as Metallica and Rammstein in front of 16.000 and 35.000 people, respectively. DEFECTO won the prestigious “Upcoming Band of the Year” award at High Voltage Awards 2017 in Copenhagen.
As DEFECTO's upcoming sophomore album “NEMESIS” is being released, the band looks to the future. DEFECTO have their sights set on Europe and the rest of the world, and is looking to start a partnership with a competent record label.
Defecto Website
Defecto @ Facebook
Defecto @ Twitter
Defecto @ YouTube